An American Crow ~ #003 August 2014 – Haiga and Haibun

©14 Eye to Eye 3 sml 6x

Summer Crow

the crow flew so close. over my right shoulder. it startled me. was there sound? or just a black flash. a soft hush. against the breeze. blurring the pitch pine air?

clearly this crow was watching me. had been watching me. was still watching me. what was I doing? sitting there. drawing? reading? memory fades. the crow flight darkens. burns. into a stronger image. these few seconds. shining. black. flash. my breath stills.

the crow turns it’s head. eye to eye we watch. knowing each other. observing. he crow? she crow? i have no idea.

that watching crow. movement. on a branch. skip hoping. deeper into cover. covert. hidden. behind thicker needle groupings. this relationship between us. our encounter. wary. the alien ways. of different species. with this same curiosity. between us. what is he doing?

black crow turns his head
to look down on me eye to eye
mischief

…≤E≥…

Altered Photograph

  • 8 x 12 Inches @ 300 ppi
  • Digital Drawing and Painting
  • iPad 2 Camera
  • Zen App
  • Perfect Effects 8
  • Adobe Photoshop Elements 12

Haiga and Haibun are two of the many Haiku and Related Forms in the field of poetry.

Haiga as I see it is image which includes haiku as part of the image—image and haiku as one work.

Haibun as I see it is prose or poetry (other than haiku) plus one or more haiku.

∆≤TE≥∆

