Summer Dreams ~ #010 May 2014 – Haiga and Haibun for Flash Fiction Prompts

©14 Fallen Leaves 2 sml 6x

 

Stepping Stones

 

He looked up, resigned. The blood didn’t matter. He was limping when he took the spill near the water. 

Blue summer night moon. The lake calm. I follow. His den cannot be far. I tracked him to this point a couple of nights ago. Then lost him among the rocks.  

The words surprise me again, “You stop.”

I hear them from within my skull. Yet they arrive on the wind. To my ear. Curiosity. I continue. With eye contact. On the rocky shore. I lose him.

I turn. To retrace my steps. 

He is other than wolf. It’s his nature. That of a human being. Each night. Returning each stone. To the place he first found them. 

I begin to understand. His penance. A thousand stones. His life. This returning. At all cost. To survive. Move on. In another life. to Escape. Life cycles.

I set out water. A piece of dry food. Each night. I watch his journey. Participating.

I wake in sunlight. Facing my dream. Stones along the wall. Facing my future. I pick up a stone. Offering it. With silent words. To the wolf. Whispering now. With a soft voice, “I’ll help.”

first summer wind
the silence of fallen leaves
gathered in a dream

…≤≥…

 

Altered Photograph

  • 8 x 12 Inches @ 300 ppi
  • Digital Drawing and Painting
  • Nikon D80 Digital Camera
  • Perfect Effects 8
  • Adobe Photoshop Elements 12

My response to the Flash Fiction Prompt: Photo and Words for May 9, 2014 on the Claudette J. Young At Home site.

My response is in the form of haiga and haibun. Two of the many Haiku and Related Forms in the field of poetry.

  • Haibun is prose or poetry (other than haiku) plus one or more haiku.
  • Haiga is image which includes haiku as a part of the image—image and haiku as one work.

 

**

∆≤≥∆

