Standing Time ~ #004 May 2014 – Haiga and Haibun; Phoneography: Nature

©14 Tree Skin 4 sml 6x

 

I and Tree

 

weathered. aged. I look in the mirror. wondering. about the color of that process. I look for the texture of my spirit. maybe my soul. as that may be. that part of me that might go on beyond this body.

the body of a tree. the bark. that ripens. over time. becomes different. thick. yet remains the same tree. roughened. me.

producing offspring. propagation. bearing and protecting. blossom. fruit. seeds. and child. in season. over time. progeny.

lichen. and other spots. and bumps. that appear on my skin. and finger tip leaves. a bruise. an odd leaning. to follow the wind. hunkering down. yet growing on. sturdy. steady. powerful. anchored. between stones. clinging solid. to the shear edges. of the planet. searching. learning. leaning. toward the light.

dropping hair. and leaves. within the seasonal change. of climate. and constantly. over time. sloughing off scales. and flakes. bits of bark. and skin. with scrapes and gashes. randomly. and via intended abrasion. and slashes. nips. and cuts. trimming. I once shaved. now I simply. buzz-cut. once in a while.

ancient. gnarled and knurled. majestic. powerful. strong. useful and beautiful. useless and elegant. supple. stiffened. stoic. fearless. trembling. protecting. carrying. caring and providing. shade. and shadow. barrier. and home.

a maple. an elm. an oak. cherry and apple. black walnut. willow and aspen and birch. mahogany. eucalyptus. cedar. juniper. Douglas-fir. blue spruce. ponderosa and Japanese black and white pine. 

I wonder if I’d fare better in a bonsai pot?

all-weather skin
over the span of a life
well seasoned

…≤≥…

 

Altered Photography

  • 8 x 12 Inches @ 300 ppi
  • Digital Drawing and Painting
  • Top Camera App
  • iPad 2
  • Adobe Photoshop Elements 12

My response to the Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Photo Challenge: Nature for May 5, 2014, found on the Lens and Pens by Sally blog.

Below are the Phoneography and Non-SLR Digital Photo Challenge themes for each Monday of the month:

  • 1st Monday: Nature
  • 2nd Monday: Macro
  • 3rd Monday: Black and White
  • 4th Monday: Challenger’s Choice (Pick One: Abstraction, Animals, Architecture, Food Photography, Night Photography, Objects, Portraiture, Still Life, Street Photography, or Travel). 
  • 5th Monday: Editing and Processing with Various Apps Using Themes from the Fourth Week (31 March 2014 will be the first challenge for this new theme).

∆≤≥∆

