A Natural Palette ~ #001 March 2014 – Haiga/Haibun for The Phoneography Challenge: Nature

©14 Natural Palette 2 sml 6x

 

 

The Being of Paint

 

I step into the yard. a fallen leaf. this cutting. that blossom. I begin to gather. texture. shape. line. form. my thoughts turn to painting. landscape. still life. inner life. worlds. planets. being.

all we create is a self portrait.

it’s endless once the flow starts. stunning. stopping. going on. and color. and color. and color. the painter’s craft. 

color. 

the properties of paint. beyond illusion. into seeing. observing. observation without naming. to actually see what I am seeing and not a symbol of what I’m seeing retained in my skull. or a composite of all I’ve seen previously. it’s documented. written about. shown. and still, to experience it. wow. seeing without naming. wow.

a dried bit of grass. a twig. seeds. this amazing work, the world around us. awe. ah. and ah-ha. again. I drift into revelation. resolution. revealing. the gravity of life on this planet. the lightness in life of being. to catch this sense of being in paint. through paint. a painter’s palette. a painter’s painting.

ginger, moses-in-a-boat, sage, palm flower and seeds, poinsettia, guiana chestnut, hibiscus, podocarp, ti, night jasmine.

 

I contemplate

a landscape palette

the painter’s red

 

Monday. 3:18 AM 

March 3, 2014

Kailua, Hawaii

 

Scanner Photography

  • 8 x 12 Inches @ 300 ppi
  • Epson Perfection Scanner
  • Digital Drawing and Painting
  • Perfect Effects 8
  • Adobe Photoshop Elements 12

 

This is my response to the Lens and Pens by Sally blog Phoneography Challenge, the Phone as Your Lens: 2014—Nature, March 3, 2014. The theme or focus for the First Monday of the month is Nature.

This image was created with an Epson (flatbed) Scanner.  When I purchase a scanner I look for the maximum in focus depth available in my price range. Most scanners (the last time I looked) scan flat work well. I had a scanner that would go up to about three quarters of an inch. I liked that scanner a lot. It was an Epson Perfection. My current Epson Perfection only goes up to about half an inch in depth. Still, I like what can be done with it. Fun.

**

