Palette Shift ~ #004 February 2014 – Haiga/Haibun Thinking Week #4: FreeStyle; NaHaiWriMo Haiku ~ Day 10

©14 Palette Shift 3 sml 6x

 

Palette Shift

i like days when i know what my first steps in the painting studio will be. not what they will become. just how i will start. it’s not that i have to know where a specific work will end, i just like to know the next step or two so i know how i will start. it’s easier to begin the conversation that way. and then to go on from there into the dialogue.

as soon as i begin those steps, the work pulls me in. speaks with me. try this. and then follow with that. blue, red, yellow. yellow, red, blue. lots of yellow because i like that color a lot now. mom did too. i remember that.

i come to a stopping place. i think 10-15 minutes have gone by and it’s an hour and a half or two hours later. that’s okay because i know this is how painting time and studio time works and i wait to enter the painting studio until i know my time is open ended. i like that. 

it’s winter now. different seasons shift my palette in different ways. sometimes as i enter the season and at other times as i am ready to let the season go, the shifting takes place. now i simply like being where i am in the season. the light. the sound. the scent and temperature all belong to a specific moment. a specific moment of this season. even the taste of winter rain is different than the taste of rain in spring or autumn. i like that.

one moment fades into another. a pulse. a pattern. woven through time. between color. and space. waft. warp and weft.

i pick up my brush. another palette shift. i become excited to work.

 

short days fade 

in the rains of winter 

this palette shift

 

February 10, 2014 

11:22 PM

 

Altered Digital Photograph

  • 8 x 12 Inches @ 300 ppi
  • Nikon D80 Digital Camera
  • Adobe Photoshop Elements 12

Haibun Thinking: Week #4 – February 11, 2014. My response to the Freestyle Challenge.

I am again taking part in Michael Dylan Welch’s NaHaiWriMo (National Haiku Writing Month). I remain Facebookless and as a result I may not always use the excellent, challenging and fun-provoking prompts he provides—which are optional. Sometimes I find them and play with them of course. I intend to post my daily haiku as I post, which means I may post several days together in one post or one haiku on a particular day, as I’m doing here. The haiku are from the days as indicated although they may not represent all I write on these days. 

 

NaHaiWriMo  

National Haiku Writing Month Feb. 2014

1 ku per day or more.

 

02-10-2014

BEANS is the prompt for Feb. 10, 2014

 

beans sprout

from the charcoal gray tray

the scent of spring

**