Winter Pillow ~ #014 January 2014 – Haiga/Haibun Thinking

©14 Winter Pillow 3 sml 6x

Winter Pillow

 

the wind building sighs in the palm fronds. the overspill from eaves. before the day begins the splatter and patter of rain on the walk around the house. 

I wake. dawn light delayed. announced with winter thunder. an hour of sleep. I think I must be tired enough to return to winter dreams.

I wrap myself in thoughts. the sheet as I left it, as it twisted off in the night. 

a gathering storm to keep me warm? island storms are often warm. not this one. the cold wrath of winter leans against the house and I tuck my feet into. . . . 

into. . . . 

. . . .the echo of my own thinking.

an orchid blossom. two stems with open purple petals. dark. and another stem about to open. I cannot remember which color it will be. I rotate the hanging pots in the orchid closet off the kitchen window. white. it may be white. I’ll know in a few days or a week.

I let go. discharging. an angry thought. lightening. letting go. a cluster of birds. their cry scattering before another bust of wind. the storm. I hear their call and let go into the warmth of sleep against the relentless winter wind. this surge and shush like waves along the shore. pulsing. pushing. rushing forward. receding. the sound follows. and I dream into sleep.

 

dawn shadows

the color of  winter

against my pillow

 

Altered Digital Photograph

  • 8 x 12 Inches @ 300 ppi
  • Nikon D80 Digital Camera
  • Perfect Effects 4
  • Adobe Photoshop Elements 12

 

Haibun Thinking: Week 2 – January 28, 2014. My response to the Challenge Departure Quote:

Gathering her brows like gathering storm, 

Nursing her wrath to keep it warm

—Robert Burns

