#2 January: Haiga ~ Street Ku; Monkey Dancer

concrete monkey dancer

celebrates twenty twelve

year of the dragon

Digital Mixed Media

  • 8 x 12 Inches @ 300 ppi
  • Digital Photograph
  • Digital Drawing and Painting
  • Nikon D80 Digital Camera
  • Adobe Photoshop Elements 6

Haiga ~ Image with Haiku as one work.

At last count last year I took 8900 plus photos.  That’s more than I usually take in a year. It’s just that I found I liked a lot of things that interested me on my street walks. 

Although I do not wish to encourage the marking of private or public property without prior permission I do find some elements of Graffiti interesting to me.  The painterliness and spontaneity (even when well thought out), the street patina and random juxtaposition, textures, the splatter and slathering of color, the aged, dated, new and wild ideas that come out of a very basic need to create all show up in Graffiti.  There is a lot I like about that spirit.  It’s something I’m finding appealing and want to explore.  This has become something I think about in a lot of ways: Graffiti Mind, the spirit of Graffiti.

